It is currently Sat Dec 10, 2016 8:18 am

Free Newsletter

Hello from a Newbie

Introduce yourself to our weight loss community.

Moderator: Moderators

Hello from a Newbie

Postby wombat » Fri Jan 04, 2008 7:12 pm

Apologies for the not-so-original subject line.

In any case, hi! I'm an eighteen-year-old student from Melbourne and I'm going to start my second year of Uni at the end of Feb.

Over the last couple of years I've focussed heavily on my studies. Whilst this approach has more than payed off academically, I've found that my body and fitness levels have suffered as a result. During exam time a few months ago I realised that I simply wasn't happy with the way I was looking. Upon hopping on the scales, I realised that I had reached a weight of 68 kg, which is over 10kg more than I had weighed only a couple of years ago.

Feeling rather self-conscious and horrible about this neglect of my health and fitness, I started an exercise regime as soon as exams finished. I started doing between 5 and 10km per day on a cheap and somewhat rickety elliptical strider, and forced myself to finish off with 50 star jumps and approximately 150 skips with a rope. After being on summer holidays for a couple of months, I had brought my weight down to 61kg and a size 12. This result left me relatively content for the time being.

However, today I'm feeling very bloated and unhappy, having spent the last week on holiday away from my exercise machine and in the company of numerous Christmas gift stockings full of chocolate and lollies. Although there is no huge difference on the scales, I feel lethargic and unhealthy.

As such, I did a quick search and found this forum. Reading the inspirational stories on here has inspired me to pursue my fitness regime with renewed vigour, so that hopefully I can get down to my desired weight of 56kg by the time that Uni starts again. (My first move was to give away my last chocolate bar to my very grateful little sister.) :)