It is currently Sat Dec 10, 2016 8:20 am

Free Newsletter

It's a bird! It's a plane! It's a newbie!

Introduce yourself to our weight loss community.

Moderator: Moderators

It's a bird! It's a plane! It's a newbie!

Postby Clark Kent » Mon Dec 29, 2008 7:19 pm

Hey everyone. Another newbie here with his story.

I'm a 25 year old male living in Melbourne, and my weight loss has been a pretty long process so far. I hit the peak of my weight at around the age of 21, tipping the sales at nearly 130kg. The realisation that I'd actually gotten to that point was a pretty big eye-opener. I'd grown up with obese people in my family and seen the terrible consequences this had on their health, but nevertheless was going down the same path.

Obviously I was scared, but obviously not scared enough, because by the time I turned 24 I'd still only managed to get down to 118. Looking back, I'm pretty annoyed at myself for wasting those years. That's when I stepped my efforts up a little bit, and over the next six months managed to lose another ten kilos or so. But then I plateaued. The effort I'd been putting in was enough to maintain the weight loss, but not really to lose any more. At the end of October this year I was still 105.

The end of October was when something changed, and I decided that I couldn't accept the mediocre effort I was putting in anymore. I started to take my weight loss very seriously. I've been counting calories properly, exercising properly, training myself to really adopt a healthier lifestyle. In the last two months I've shed a further 11 kilos, bringing me to 94 as I write this. I've set a goal for myself of 85, but that's pretty arbitrary. I'll see what happens when I get there, since I know that losing the weight in the first place will probably only be half the battle.

Looking forward to interacting with all of you on here. Now if you'll all excuse me, I'm off to tackle my weight. This looks like a job for Superman!
Clark Kent