It is currently Wed Oct 26, 2016 4:50 pm

Free Newsletter

Hi everyone, newbie here in need of help.

Introduce yourself to our weight loss community.

Moderator: Moderators

Hi everyone, newbie here in need of help.

Postby Tenrai » Mon Oct 24, 2011 1:42 pm

Hi everyone, I'm Dee, I'm 22. I'm once again on a weight loss mission.
My goal is 79kg (80kg would be good enough but I love seeing 70-something on the scales! :lol: ) I know around 80kg is healthy for me, due to my tall height and large frame, I look and feel healthy at that weight.

Last year I lost 31kg in about 3 months through obsessive exercising and dieting (ate nothing but a small plate of chicken and broccoli twice a day and sat on an exercise bike 3 hours a day).
I soon realised that was very unhealthy when I gained back 17kg over the following 9 months without eating that much junk food. :(
So I'm trying to lose it again, but I'm doing it slowly and healthily this time. For the past 6 weeks I've been on a diet of around 1200 calories a day and burning about 600 of those calories off in exercise.
I've lost 3kg so far. But according to my calculations, I should be losing at least 1kg each week, not 500g? Am I doing something wrong? I'm really worried that I did major damage to my metabolism with my silly anorexic phase last year, is that possible?
I also have diabetes, and my sugar levels have been higher than they should be (around 9 to 11). Are my sugar levels making me burn less fat? I have started a low-carb diet this week and my sugar levels are coming down a bit, I'm hoping this will make a difference.
Any advice or insight would be greatly appreciated. :D

Looking forward to get to know you all here and share our experiences. :D

Re: Hi everyone, newbie here in need of help.

Postby CronicBadger » Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:11 am

Hi Dee