It is currently Sat Oct 29, 2016 2:57 am

Free Newsletter

Pear Shaped from the Northern Territory

Introduce yourself to our weight loss community.

Moderator: Moderators

Pear Shaped from the Northern Territory

Postby PearShaped » Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:58 pm

Hi Everyone! This reminds me of what they say sometimes on radio chat shows... "Hi! Long time listener, first time caller!". Obviously I'm new to this wonderful forum but I've been reading now for about a month and just couldn't resist joining in with all of you beautiful people!! :D

I'm 150cm tall and weight 95kg. I have been overweight (technically obese) for a very very long time (since I was a child) and it's interesting how an issue with yourself can become tabboo in your own life. I suppose I reached a point where the issue of my weight just wasn't something I thought about and the possibility of losing weight was inconceivable! :shock: Thoughts like "I'll never be able to fit into anything in that shop!" and "I'll always be a fat person" were so normal to a point that they became an subconcious response.

I've just started the Ultra Lite program (in my 4th day) and am finding it so far so good. I began a Low GI eating plan about a month ago and stuck to that for 3 weeks before I started with Ultra Lite. I managed to lose 3kg in three weeks on the low GI diet coupled with walking every day for 30-45min. I've now lost another 2kg in three days with Ultra Lite and am really happy about that... and who wouldn't be?! :)

When I started the Low GI thing it was like there was a switch flicked in my head and something good kicked in and all the motivating factors for me wanting to lose weight came together all at once. My top 3 reasons are:

1. I'm young (26) but getting older a lot faster than I should be due to my weight and need to take better care of myself (high blood pressure and cholesterol)

2. I want to have children!! :D

and finally the catalyst...