It is currently Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:51 pm

Free Newsletter

Need help losing weight

Introduce yourself to our weight loss community.

Moderator: Moderators

Need help losing weight

Postby Thinliz06 » Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:54 pm

Hi, I'm new to this but desperate to lose at least 10 kilos before March 2012. How can I get over the cravings that always seem to ruin my weight loss attempts? :x
Thinliz06

Re: Need help losing weight

Postby CronicBadger » Wed Nov 09, 2011 7:53 am

Hi thinliz06

There are plenty of ways to deal with cravings. You'll find some here in the forum in the older discussions (use the search function), and there are other articles on the website that is attached to the forum.

Basically, cravings arise from both psychological and physical needs and one or both will need to be addressed.

Personally, I find that they are fleeting, maybe only lasting five or so minutes, but they can be intense. However, if they can be resisted for five minutes, then that can often be long enough for the intensity of the craving to ebb to a manageable level. You need to turn resistance to cravings into a basic habit, unlike caving in to them, which is a bad habit that needs to be unlearned.

In the short term, get it off your mind by doing something that requires concentration and and gets you away from potential food sources. Always have a bit of healthy low energy food such as a carrot or celery stick to munch on or even a big glass of water - it won't satisfy your craving for chips or whatever but at least it will give your mouth and stomach something to do.

It gets easier once you DO manage to weather out the short period of intense craving, and eventually (at least, in my experience) they become quite manageable.
CronicBadger

Postby Thinliz06 » Wed Nov 09, 2011 10:15 am

Hi CronicBadger,
Thankyou for the tips, have started the day with healthy breakfast but about 11am ! I will be looking at the posts you suggested.
Thanks again
Thinliz06