It is currently Tue Dec 06, 2016 7:13 pm

Free Newsletter

I'm a Newbie - Looking for support :)

Introduce yourself to our weight loss community.

Moderator: Moderators

I'm a Newbie - Looking for support :)

Postby Forgood » Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:59 pm

Hi,
I'm new to the forum and am impressed with the support and help offered here. You have all inspired me to succeed. I am 43, mother of 3 kids (20, 18, 14), and have struggled with my weight all my adult life. In fact in my teens, I was considered the chubby sister, but when i look back at photo's I wasn't fat at all! if only I had appreciated my body then. The mind set stuck and here I am today after years of yo-yo dieting bigger than ever.
I managed to maintain a reasonable weight until 4 years ago, following some surgery, I put on 10 kilos. Then some difficult family/emotional issues and another 15kilos.
My wonderful partner, who fell in love with the big me, is planning our wedding for the end of the year. I can't bear to see myself in photo's at the moment, and there is no way our wedding photo is going to be compromised. 25 kilos gone by the end of the year!!!!
My 18 year old son is annorexic and has been hospitalised for this before, so it is difficult to discuss my dieting at home. I am trying to do this on the sly without showing any obvious signs by having diet foods/replacement meals/or attending any meetings. My approach is simpley healthy eating, smaller portions and more exercise.
I accepted a challenge to complete a month of 10,000 steps per day for a magazine. For this had to have a full health check and weigh in to see if there is any benefit after a month. I knew I was at risk of diabetes amongst other things, but the results have made me ashamed that i have let myself get this big. Its only week one of my challenge and so far so good.
Look forward to sharing my journey with you. stay tuned, weigh in next friday - hopefully good news.
cheers, M
Forgood

Re: I'm a Newbie - Looking for support :)