It is currently Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:25 am

Free Newsletter

I'm back and have realised my problem

Share and get help to overcome your emotional eating issues here.

Moderator: Moderators

I'm back and have realised my problem

Postby Butterfly_Dawn » Tue Oct 05, 2010 9:45 am

Some of you MAY remember me, I was on here a good while ago. Long story short, about 4 years ago I lost 35kg, but returned to uni and had a couple of injuries which set me back, fell back in to some old bad habits and gained back about 15kg's. Trying to lose it again but am finding it very difficult and it is because of emotional eating. This is exceedingly annoying because I KNOW what I need to do to lose the weight (and am about sick of well meaning comments like "how about just cutting out one snack per day? Or replacing full cream milk with skim?"), I just can seem to get myself to follow the plan! My problems are the following:

1) I'm doing a PhD and writing my thesis. I find this very anxiety producing (over an above Uni which is anxiety central to start with - fear of failure is a real pain in the butt) and tend to procrastinate rather than just do the bloody thing. Guess what heads the top of my list for procrastination tasks?? Yup, food.

2) I get bored/lonely after dinner when hubby is generally out in his shed playing cars. Guess what I tend to get in to? Yup, I raid the pantry.

I have come up with a number of strategies to combat this (I should be able to, I'm studying clinical psychology :roll: ) However I still find it very difficult to beat (let that be a lesson to you all - just because you know how it should/can be done, doesn't mean it's easy). My strategies include:

1) Being aware of my high risk times and be on alert to my behaviour and thinking patterns - have a plan to deal with it!
2) Being aware of my permissive thoughts and use cognitive strategies to attempt to address them
3) Using distraction (maybe I should actually work on my thesis hey?)