It is currently Sat Jul 26, 2014 10:10 pm

Free Newsletter

"study" food

Share and get help to overcome your emotional eating issues here.

Moderator: Moderators

"study" food

Postby rivenriver » Mon Oct 08, 2007 10:45 am

I'm a uni student, and when I hit exam period, or have a big assignment due, I let my guard down and EAT. Like, a whole packet of chocolate biscuts and a tube or pringles in a night. I justify it to myself, saying, "I'm working hard, I need it." But I don't need it, I'm just hurting myself.

Exams are comming up again, and I have two major essays due at the end of October too. I need to work out NOW how to avoid my stress eating.

Any ideas / comments / anecdotes?
rivenriver

Postby sassi » Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:12 am

how do you feel after you eat it? and i don't mean so much emotionally (although that's important) but physically? do you get tired & lethargic after you eat those things? refined foods aren't great for your body and isn't the right fuel for your brain! those foods are high in sugar and will make you crash and burn...

i find if i can think about food in terms of it being fuel for my body then i eat things that are better for me. if i think about food as an emotional crutch, then i make poor choices. what about if you planned what you're going to eat for the day/week and buy only those foods?

if you can (it's not always this easy), why not go for a walk when you feel like stress-eating? that's a guaranteed way to help stress levels and will help clear your head for studying.

dunno if that helps at all!
sassi

Postby Chief » Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:48 am

I have little snacks such as 'rice wheels' they're a kids lunch snack but I'm a big kid anyways so instead of grabbing a pack of smiths i go for the healthy alternative. Have a look in the supermarket health section for more little snacks.

If your going to snack, it'd be better to have a healthier choice.
Yes i'm a bloke
[url=http://www.TickerFactory.com/weight-loss/wr2WOoy/]
[/url]