It is currently Thu Dec 08, 2016 6:48 pm

Free Newsletter

i want to be an Emergency doctor or nurse

Talk about anything and everything, whether it's related to weight loss or not.

Moderator: Moderators

i want to be an Emergency doctor or nurse

Postby grugwashere » Fri Mar 09, 2007 10:01 am

i would love to be a doctor or a nurse... but there is a slight problem im not smart enough... im not very good at maths and in year 12 ididnt even do it... i ave never done chem and i didnt get a very good score for bio (through lack of study) do u think its worth me trying to become either of these.. most likely a nurse.....

is anyone here either of those things?
SW:91kg
CW:75kg
GW: Somwhere in the 60's for now

Next mini goal:73kg
grugwashere

Postby kate_turner2000 » Fri Mar 09, 2007 10:03 am

hey jo

i think thats wonderful that you want to help people for a living :) good on u! there are a couple of ladies who are nurses and mandie is becoming a dr so perhaps they can help you with details on how to get into it. but i say follow ur heart. if you are dedicated and willing to learn then u will go far. dont let anything stop u reaching ur goals in life. best wishes
kate_turner2000

Postby milkyway » Fri Mar 09, 2007 10:46 am

Hey Grug - what an admirable ambition.

Did you know you don't have to go to university to become a nurse? You can go to TAFE and do a 2 year 'Diploma of Nursing' to become a Division 2 Nurse.

See this site and select which state you're from to find out further information.

http://jobguide.thegoodguides.com.au/jo ... ?jobid=614

And don't worry about not having Year 12. You can always apply as a 'mature age' student. Not sure exactly what the specific of 'mature age' are - it could be as young as 19 or a one year out of high school. Check with your local TAFE.