It is currently Sat Dec 10, 2016 7:53 pm

Free Newsletter

Disillusioned not with my job but the people

Talk about anything and everything, whether it's related to weight loss or not.

Moderator: Moderators

Disillusioned not with my job but the people

Postby Sassygirl » Wed Aug 29, 2007 1:22 pm

I work in an environment that is nothing short of being back in high school with backstabbers, people talking about you and so much office politics that I hate coming here - but on the other hand I love the work that I do, love the flexibility of the hours here as I have small children who DO get sick every once in a while. My pay is ok (just got a payrise). But I am sick of all the biatching that the WOMEN in this organisation do. I work in Finance closely with 5 others (although on some occasions 1 I don't particulary like) but I guess I am scared of the unknown (at least here I know what I can do and I am good at it etc). I just had a look on seek.com and there are jobs out there but my fear is that I won't get the same compassion from other bosses as I get from mine. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks for listening to my ramblings!!!
2008 - my year to be great!!

Sassygirl

Postby milkyway » Wed Aug 29, 2007 1:40 pm

It's really hard to work in a toxic environment like that Michelle. Eew!

I wouldn't let job flexibility scare you off from approaching other employers or applying for jobs as good employers are well aware the finding AND keeping good staff means providing a flexible work enviornment.

My brother stuck out at a job he liked (but enviornment he hated) for a looong time because it had the flexibility he needed and was close to home as he has 50% custody of his son and needed to be able to pick him up from school several days per week etc. Anyhoo, he is now in a new job, still close to home, getting paid waaay more AND maintains the same level of flexibility :D

So don't let it stop you from giving the job hunt a go :)