It is currently Sat Dec 03, 2016 5:02 am

Free Newsletter

Need suggestions - late night food

Anything and everything concerning weight loss.

Moderator: Moderators

Need suggestions - late night food

Postby rivenriver » Mon Oct 29, 2007 10:57 pm

Hi all. :)

Well, I'm in a bit of a pickle. Let me explain.

For those who don't know, I'm a uni student, and I live on campus in a fully catered hall. This has pros and cons as far as the diet goes, but the best thing I think (aside from not having to cook and having so much choice at meal times) is it makes it much easier to eat ONLY at meal times. I'm the sort of person who eats food if it's there - living with the dining hall means I can not have any food available to me between meals if I choose. I could go and get an apple or a glass of milk, but that's about the limit, and it helps me stay on track. After dinner, the dining hall closes, so I don't even have those.

What I do have is a cheap canteen open between 8 and 10, 6 evenings per week. There's also a vending machine outside my door, for all other hours of the night. This makes chocolate and etc available when it's not wanted, which is tricky, but I'm getting there.

Now, my dilemma.

As a student working late at night, there are times when you are genuinely hungry. Like right now, for instance. Study is hard, it takes it out of you, and although most of the time for me it's just craving, sometimes I'm really hungry. And it's tricky telling myself it's too late to eat, because concentrating is harder when you're hungry, and I need to concentrate to get my work done.