It is currently Thu Dec 08, 2016 7:15 am

Free Newsletter

I'm now totally confused, someone please exxxplain!

Anything and everything concerning weight loss.

Moderator: Moderators

I'm now totally confused, someone please exxxplain!

Postby sunshine » Wed Nov 14, 2007 9:03 pm

So I had my weight programme done today, and my measurements etc as well at the new gym in town. Since I am new to this, I am so confused about what I should be striving or looking for. My instructor said because "muscles weigh more than fat" the loss of kilos on the scales is not as important as the loss of cm around my belly hips, etc. So I shouldn't be looking towards losing heaps of kilos, but making sure my measurements go down. Which I would want anyway of course!! And that the weights will be toning me. Does this seem okay to you guys?

I am doing weights 3 times a week, she did a full body programme, alongside my walking and bike riding, for my cardio. Am I doing the correct thing?

My second query is about eating. Is it correct that you just have to ensure that you burn off the kilojoules you consume in a day. So what would be the recommended intake for me - 40 yr old, fairly new to excercise, around 9 000 kj per day. So I would need to make sure I am eating less than that and doing excercise to burn it off.

Sorry for the long post, as I am quite clueless right now and just want to do this right. Best wishes to you.
sunshine

Re: I'm now totally confused, someone please exxxplain!

Postby help6363 » Wed Nov 14, 2007 9:15 pm