It is currently Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:58 pm

Free Newsletter

My Experience with Nutrition & The Nutrition Deception

Anything and everything concerning weight loss.

Moderator: Moderators

My Experience with Nutrition & The Nutrition Deception

Postby stevo » Mon Mar 30, 2009 8:57 pm

Hi Everyone,

I have personally had a very interesting journey learning about nutrition over the years. In the early 90's I studied full time at Uni and worked part time as a personal trainer. I knew that if I wanted my clients to get the best possible results I needed to learn about nutrition so I read everything in the university library on nutrition.

Then I would design nutritional plans for my clients (based on standard academic nutritional recommendations, which at the time was based on the Food Pyramid). However, in a very short period of time my clients would stop getting results. I couldn't work out why these nutritional plans (high-carb, low-fat) didn't work but nevertheless I decide to change them and make more like a bodybuilder's pre-contest diet (at the time I was heavily into bodybuilding). This is more of a moderate-carb, higher protein approach.

Amazing! They started getting results again! I started doing more research on nutrition and what I discovered was quite interesting. The Food Pyramid, which was promoted by nutritionists, dietitians, health organisations, etc. was actually designed by the United States Department of Agriculture! Of course, their products were on the base of the Food Pyramid (consume the most of these, 6-11 serves a day!). No wonder it didn't work!

A few years later I decided to go back to uni and study nutrition- I lasted a year! They had changed from the Food Pyramid to the Australian Guide to Healthy Eating but it still recommended the high-carb, low-fat approach with a disproportionately high amount of bread, pasta, rice, cerals, etc. They recommended about a third of your daily food intake to come from these foods.