It is currently Tue Dec 06, 2016 4:50 pm

Free Newsletter

Underweight yet still look fat???!!!!

Anything and everything concerning weight loss.

Moderator: Moderators

Underweight yet still look fat???!!!!

Postby Nocedo » Sun Aug 02, 2009 1:36 pm

Hello, Im relatively new to the whole weight loss thing. I am male, 17 years of age and have decided to start toning myself up a bit by going on a bike ride every day. However technically im underweight for my height and age averaging around 62 kgs. I may underweight technically but I still carry lots of fat around my stomach and chest so most of the time its quite embarrassing to go to the beach or wear a tight shirt. I was obese for much of my younger life and would just like to know how to get rid of this fat for good. I dont want to lose weight i just want to get rid of all this excess fat. Anything i should be doing?
Nocedo

Re: Underweight yet still look fat???!!!!

Postby EvilWombatQueen » Sun Aug 02, 2009 1:57 pm

You're idea of toning is right on the money. Bike riding will keep you fit and burn fat, but you might want to work on those specific muscle areas to tone them through resistance and weight work. You can use weights and push-ups to tone your chest area. Abdominal exercises will tone your mid-section. Another option is pilates, which concentrates on strengthening your core muscles and forming long, lean muscles.

Make sure you eat lots of protein. This will help build muscles which will burn more fat.

One thing to remember, though, is that while you can sculpt your body shape to an extent, sometimes there's not much you can do about your body type. You can tone but you can't spot reduce. If you have an apple shape where you tend to store fat around your middle you may have to learn to accept that to a degree.