It is currently Sat Dec 10, 2016 12:35 am

Free Newsletter

BMI... confused

Anything and everything concerning weight loss.

Moderator: Moderators

BMI... confused

Postby TamaraP » Mon Sep 18, 2006 4:53 pm

I am a baker by trade, so my weight varies from fat to more muscle than anything.

I was calculating my BMI today and to get to my "ultimate" weight I have to weight 60kg!!!!

There is no way I would be able to lose that much and continue working as a Baker.

My hubby is about 5-7cm taller than me and weighs 80kg... looking at him I would love to be that size...

Do you think considering I carry a lot more muscle I should not even bother with my BMI??
Tamara

TamaraP

Postby KimE » Mon Sep 18, 2006 6:41 pm

If you are heavily muscled, like a bodybuilder, the BMI is not a good measurement. You will also find that the BMI is usually a range not an absolute. I am 5 foot 2 and according to the BMI the 'normal' range for that height is 46-61 kgs and that will most likely depend on which BMI you use to calculate. So don't get too hung up on it.

You may want to consider other types of measurements. Maybe measure body parts like arms, hips, waist etc or perhaps your body fat %. I have scales that tell me my body fat % but they can be a bit iffy at times. Mainly because I weigh in the morning and these scales don't really like that due to the body being dehydrated. So I usually do a separate body fat % reading once a week.

I kinda keep an eye on all of them, BMI, body fat%, scale weight, hips, waist as there are times when one barely moves and I see jumps in other areas. However, on here I only put down my weight.

But you know what, if you feel good at 80 and like what you see maybe all the rest is hogwash!
Kim - To thine own self be true
Maintainence since 04/11/06
Preferred Weight - Under 60 kgs
Current Weight - 64.8 kgs
Start Weight - 85 kgs
KimE

Postby Garfield » Mon Sep 18, 2006 7:55 pm