It is currently Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:59 am

Free Newsletter

Random and systematic error in your scales.... And breathe!

Anything and everything concerning weight loss.

Moderator: Moderators

Random and systematic error in your scales.... And breathe!

Postby Butterfly_Dawn » Tue Nov 09, 2010 5:27 pm

I know some people like to weigh... a lot... and place a lot of faith in changes in their weight of a few grams here or there. As a PhD student, I was forced to learn one or two things about measurement and measurement error that is kind of applicable here and would like to share it with you. I promise I'll make it as painless as possible... Here goes... Stats 101...

In every measurement there is error, error is part of life. I'm not talking "whoops I added two numbers wrong" kind of error, I'm talking unreliability. Every scale has unreliability of some magnitude. This error is one of two forms:

Systematic error is also known as bias. This is what you get if your scales are badly calibrated and they weigh consistently either heavy or light. Systematic error is responsible for the "but the doctor's scales said I was 5kg lighter!" effect: since scales aren't calibrated to each other, or to a cental standard very often, they will weigh differently to each other.

This is not a problem so long as they are precise and you only weigh on one set of scales and you're only interested in the trend of your weight change either up or down, really the number is just a number. If you're trying to get to a specific weight on a specific set of scales (e.g. the police force or army recruitment scales) then you better check how they weigh compared to yours.