It is currently Sun Dec 11, 2016 11:20 am

Free Newsletter

Losing weight on a student budget

Anything and everything concerning weight loss.

Moderator: Moderators

Losing weight on a student budget

Postby bit_o_dust » Thu Jul 05, 2007 1:56 am

I'm a poor uni student living in college and I need some advice on how to lose weight without spending a fortune. The food at college is disgusting and greasy but I can't afford to buy healthy food and have no facilities to prepare food for myself.

Gyms are also out of my price range so any cheap exercise suggestions would also be most welcome and appreciated!
bit_o_dust

Postby kate_turner2000 » Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:14 am

maybe head over to http://www.calorieking.com.au to see if you can work out how many calories you are supposed to have a day and how many calories are in the foods at your uni.

try and do as much incidental exercise as you can and if your uni has a pool or a gym make use of it. check out other peoples exercise diaries in the section on the forum and you might get an idea of what you need to do in order to lose the weight.

best wishes!
kate_turner2000

Postby Ses » Thu Jul 05, 2007 10:28 am

walking is free. So is jogging. Check out the "couch to 5K" program, thats gets you jogging 5k safely.......

Talk to the cook who prepares college food about some low-fat options. Eat more salad and less sandwich........

Get a walking group together from the college.....

Use stairs whenever possible. I used to do the 14 levels if I had a 1/2 hour break - indoor excercise that was free!
[[url=http://www.TickerFactory.com/weight-loss/wg3ZtyW/]
[/url]
Ses

Postby grugwashere » Thu Jul 05, 2007 11:02 am

I think everyone has some great ideas...