It is currently Fri Sep 30, 2016 10:44 pm

Free Newsletter

How long should I rest my quads?

A place for gym junkies to talk gym.

Moderator: Moderators

How long should I rest my quads?

Postby EvilWombatQueen » Thu Feb 07, 2008 5:10 pm

I need advice! I've did my first work-out at the gym yesterday. Now my legs are killing me! It was the squats with weights that did it. My quadriceps ache and I can barely walk (I can run without bother, though, which is pretty weird). I was wondering when I should go back and do another work-out. I was planning on having a day's rest between work-outs to allow my muscles to recover, repair and rebuild but I was wondering if it would be better to have a couple of days rest and only go back when my quadriceps don't ache too badly, at least while I'm just starting out.

So should I go to the gym tomorrow and do the same workout as best I can with aching legs? Or perhaps go to the gym and do all the other exercises but let rest my quadriceps since they're the only muscle group that's still aching. Or would it be best to avoid the gym until my quadriceps don't hurt as much, concentrating on running and toning my upper body at home until my legs are better?

Also, have I made a big mistake in running while my quads are still aching? I assumed that running wasn't working on the muscles in the same way that the squats were, which is why my muscles were ill-prepared for squats in the first place, so I thought it wouldn't do any harm. I went walking after doing the weights to clear out the lactic acid and I've been stretching regularly since then to try to alleviate the pain too.

Any advice would be hugely welcome!
EvilWombatQueen

Re: How long should I rest my quads?

Postby ali76 » Thu Feb 07, 2008 5:17 pm

Oh dear....I'm really not sure!

I don't think running was the best idea though?