It is currently Fri Dec 09, 2016 6:45 pm

Free Newsletter

Newbie questions

Got questions about weight loss? Ask the mob, they're sure to have the answers!

Moderator: Moderators

Newbie questions

Postby greenice » Tue Dec 30, 2008 9:04 pm

Sorry for the long post but it's difficult to explain my situation.

I'm new to weight loss. I have been over weight my whole (but short so far) life. A few months ago I decided to get serious and exercised by walking home from uni and work. This worked great and by cutting down my eating I lost about 10kg. This was before I understood diet like I do now. the principle of dieting is using more than u take in so I just ate a lot less and exercised a lot more. I started reading about metabolism and I realized I'm slowing mine right down by doing this so I have been working on my diet a lot more. Right now I’m stuck on the same weight for quite a while. I don’t know what to do, I have joined the gym and have been training and doing weights so my exercise has gone up way more yet I still can’t lose more weight. Usually I do some light weights on my arms and legs plus cardio in the form of a bike or treadmill. Usually around 40-60mins of cardio. I aim for burning at least 500 calories doing cardio (that's what the machine says I have burnt anyway). Last week I tried training harder to see if that was the problem. I went to the gym 3 days in a row, on the first day instead of 500 calories I did 800 and put extra weight on for my arms and legs. Next day I did about 600 and day after that 500 calories. At the end of this I still hadn’t lost any weight. In fact after the first day it said I had put on 2kg. Right now no matter if I work harder or eat better my weight still just goes up then down within a range of 2kg. It’s so frustrating. I’m not sure what to do. I have read that plateauing is normal but this has gone on for at least a month. I’m not sure this is a factor or not but I have been trying to build some strength so I have bee