It is currently Sun Dec 11, 2016 10:53 pm

Free Newsletter

Can you REALLY walk the weight off?

Got questions about weight loss? Ask the mob, they're sure to have the answers!

Moderator: Moderators

Can you REALLY walk the weight off?

Postby MVick07 » Sat Apr 25, 2009 3:59 am

Hi all,

I've been doing some reading here n there, and well.. i Guess I cant help but be skeptical at times..
Basically, at this stage (im a student) im struggling to pay for the gym, hence im limited to cheaper methods of weight loss

I made a pledge last week to start walking (from like near zero activity)....and am currently weighing in at 95kg!
I started off with about 4km and pushed it up to 6km yesterday...(and im really feeling it when I wake up the next morning :()

I dunno, I feel that walking is a part of life, and therefore I don't really think I can lose much weight on this..... but I also walk at a brisk pace.. :)

Ive tried some more intense methods (running, sprinting etc) but my knees fail....
So is it true that walking will really help me lose some weight, at least to get to the running stage?
Weight @ 4/25: 95.2kg
Weight @ 11/6: 96.0kg CRAP!
MVick07

Re: Can you REALLY walk the weight off?

Postby Chiggy » Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:10 am

Hey there MVick07, I can honestly say that walking has helped the kilos fall off me in the past. Any sort of cardio exercise will work really. Although if you get to a point where you're finding it too easy, its probably time to change your walking route (ie, find a place with a steeper incline etc).
Chiggy

Postby Shalimar » Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:46 am

For months and months walking was my only form of exercise (and it still is my main form of exercise) and boy have I lost weight, so my answer is yes :D .

SW: 175.0 kgs.
CW: 62 kgs-Hit goal 12 September 2009.
Shalimar

Postby MVick07 » Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:49 am