It is currently Fri Oct 28, 2016 11:30 am

Free Newsletter

Newbie Calorie Question

Got questions about weight loss? Ask the mob, they're sure to have the answers!

Moderator: Moderators

Newbie Calorie Question

Postby Mowen » Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:24 pm

Hey there, I am a 26 year old male, standing 183cm and weighing in at a massive 130kgs. I have started trying to create an all round good living plan and this includes a good eating plan. I have started to make a menu and do the calorie counting thing, though I am a beginner and not sure if I'm going about it the right way.

I used this formula that I found on the biggest loser website: (66+(13.7*130)+(5*183)-(6.8*26))-1.55 to arrive at a total of 2584 calories I need to eat each day to maintain weight (I think!).

This is the menu I have set up:

Breakfast -
3 Weet Bix 167
250ml Milk 158
Apple 100

Snack -
Muesli Bar 126

Lunch -
Roll 227
Deli Meat 60
Salad 50
Cheese 50
Pear 100

Snack -
Yoghurt 186

Dinner -
Salad/Veg 200
Meat 400

Snack -
Banana 172

Trying to drink nothing but water, this comes to 1824 calories which if I under stand things correctly should lost me about 600 - 700 grams a week.

Along with 30 mins of walking my dog, 30 mins on an treadmill a day and a weight session 3 times a week.

What I need to know, is my calorie counting and food estimations on track, or have I got the numbers wrong?

Re: Newbie Calorie Question

Postby Czarina » Mon Apr 26, 2010 4:55 pm

Try, it will sort your calorie intake out for you, and even a menu plan if you want!

Postby Weight loss for life » Sat May 01, 2010 1:55 am

It is difficult to tell if your numbers are right as your base metabolic rate (how many calories your body burns just by being alive) is not only based on your height and weight, but also your lean muscle mass which needs.