It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 5:11 pm

Free Newsletter

Newbie here. Have some questions.

Got questions about weight loss? Ask the mob, they're sure to have the answers!

Moderator: Moderators

Newbie here. Have some questions.

Postby mohammad.khalid » Wed Jul 27, 2011 12:47 am

Assalamalaikum (Peace be onto you) to the Muslims,
And a friendly Hi to everyone else.

I am a newbie here, although I've come here before when I was thinking about weight loss. Now I've become serious about attempting it and so have some questions which I'm sure many of you can answer due to the years of experience some members have gathered through the years.

I currently weigh 106 KG and have a height of 184 cm and thus a BMI of 31.3 (Obese, according to the site I checked). I want to reach 80 KG just to loose all the extra fat.

The Questions:
1) How long do you think it will take? Please state the plan used with the time you give. Ex: It will take 3 months if you walk 3 km everyday, etc...

2) If you loose weight very fast, it is unhealthy and you have a higher chance of gaining it all back pretty fast too. Is this concept true?

3) Will having a diet of only fruits and vegetables help without drastically affecting my health?

4) What kind of exercises can you recommend that can be easily done in the home without going to a gym or some field? I have a thread mill too, so any kind of plan here is most welcome.

Thank You for all the help.
mohammad.khalid

Re: Newbie here. Have some questions.

Postby Metalcharm » Wed Jul 27, 2011 12:13 pm

It's a bit hard to answer the questions so generally as everyone is different but I'll give it a go.

1/ For a healthy weight loss I would aim for an average of half to one kilo a week. It will be quicker at the start and will slow down asyou get closer to your goal. To do this you would need to exercise 4-5 times a week for an hour a day and to restrict your calorie intake.