It is currently Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:44 pm

Free Newsletter

Bike commuting

Anything and everything concerning exercise.

Moderator: Moderators

Bike commuting

Postby Freddy » Tue Sep 09, 2008 6:54 am

I'm quite new to bike commuting. I've had two chances before to getting used to the bike commuting lifestyle, but threw them both away. Both chances were this year, after second half of the year, so very recent. Still I want to try again. I've been watching too many "Made" episodes on MTV I guess. I think I can become a great bike commuter. I believe I can do 9000km a year by just commuting. It's 50km round trip each day, 5 days a week.

Who else here is a bike commuter?
Freddy

Re: Bike commuting

Postby Butterfly_Dawn » Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:08 pm

me! 38km return. Love it.
35kg lost. (November 2005 - October 2006)
15kg gained again (as at October 2010).
Back to the drawing board - Let's do this thing!

"You can't change the winds, but you can change the sails"

"Reach out and take control of what lands in your lap"

Butterfly_Dawn

Postby Freddy » Wed Sep 10, 2008 7:02 am

I only did 25km today. While on my way to work, I threw up three times at the bottom of the monster bridge I have to get over to get to work. Annoying and humiliating when doing that at 24km, just before getting to work. You just feel everyone looking at you, while you spit out some leftovers from the muesli and milk combo that just came up... Weird thing is that I never had this before, first time after 4 weeks of non-commuting and my body just shuts down apparently. Also weird that I already started feeling a bit freaky in the stomach at 9km...

Ah well, I feel good now. Was picked up by the wife after my course, so tomorrow morning I have to go to work by train. Tomorrow afternoon I'll get back home by bike.
Freddy

Postby Butterfly_Dawn » Wed Sep 10, 2008 5:51 pm