It is currently Sun Dec 11, 2016 1:18 pm

Free Newsletter

Conflicting advice - someone please help me!

Anything and everything concerning exercise.

Moderator: Moderators

Conflicting advice - someone please help me!

Postby J.Spears » Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:11 pm

Ok so I'm starting to get really disheartened and confused about what type/s of training I should be doing in order to get the results I want.

First, I guess it would help to explain my goals and a bit about where I'm at right now. I started training and watching what I eat about 7 or 8 weeks ago now. I'm 21 and a guy. When I started, I weighed 74kgs (I'm 174cm tall, so I was in the upper spectrum of 'normal' according to me BMI, but just want to get rid of the pudgy bits!). Over the past 6 weeks I've gotten down to 68.5kgs - I still have a bit more fat that I'd like to get rid of, most of which sits on my lower gut (hot right?). I've had a few sessions with a personal trainer, he absolutely pushes me to my limit which is great. My goal is to lose the extra bits of fat and build lean muscle in my chest, arms, shoulders and abs.

So I have basically been doing cardio 5 days a week (burning between 500 and 800 calories each time) and doing free weights and ab work with my trainer 1 day a week. He has told me I need to be using weight machines throughout the week, and cut down on cardio except for the treadmill.