It is currently Sat Dec 03, 2016 5:06 am

Free Newsletter

Treadmill = big calves and thighs?

Anything and everything concerning exercise.

Moderator: Moderators

Treadmill = big calves and thighs?

Postby Dotti » Mon May 28, 2007 11:18 pm

Hi everyone! Do you think that running/walking on a treadmill will lead to big calves and thighs? My fat stores in my tummy and thighs (I'm pear shaped) and I need to tone my calves and thighs, not get them bigger. Does incline make them bigger? Running Vs Walking? I'm scared that too much treadmill will actually make my legs thicker and not thiner. What's your thoughts?
Dotti

Postby milkyway » Mon May 28, 2007 11:29 pm

Hey Dotti - I am no expert by any stretch, but I think your calves & legs will be fine. I think you need to do weight/resistance training to build up big muscles.
Just keep moving! And don't be lazy...
------------------------
SW: 74.3kg - 1/1/09
CW: 71.1kg - 3/5/09
GW 62kg
milkyway

Postby KarinAnn » Tue May 29, 2007 11:51 am

Hey Dotti!
I use a treadmill all the time.. (Cept for the few slack days) I've never had a problem with my calf muscles getting bigger. I too was worried about that, as I've always had big calf muscles due to a lot of sports and running when I was younger. So didn't want them to be HUGE.. I haven't noticed them changing at all. I do half an hour of incline and half an hour of flat surface.. Hope that helps!

I was just on the treadmill before i came on here. I had a huge shocker.. I hit "reset" instead of "mode" :roll: So swore at it and jumped off.. Going to have to do it all over again soon.

**I can and WILL do this**
KarinAnn

Postby Chelle » Tue May 29, 2007 3:26 pm

I think it would tone your legs into shape, not make them bigger
Chelle

Postby Dotti » Tue May 29, 2007 7:57 pm

Thanks everyone! I really appreciate your comments :wink:
Dotti

Postby talia11 » Tue May 29, 2007 9:16 pm

My husband ( a personal trainer) says NO.