It is currently Sat Dec 03, 2016 5:00 am

Free Newsletter

Too scared to start again?

A place for members with more than 10 kg to lose

Moderator: Moderators

Too scared to start again?

Postby jessmeow » Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:42 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm in need of advice from all you lovely people.

About a year ago I lost a decent amount of weight (20kgs - still a loooong way to go though, I have 70+ to lose), I was eating well and going to the gym but unfortunetly for various reasons I put it all back on and now I'm too scared to start trying to lose again because I'm so so worried I will fail and put it back on again (again). I've been re-starting my efforts for a couple months now (lol) but it never happens.. As soon as I think this is time to start I basically have a panic attack.

My other problem is the gym.. The gym I was going to before I can't go back too but more to the point is I wasn't really enjoying it. It seems like people always hate it at first but then they grow to LOVE going to the gym and working out gives them a 'high' but I never experienced that. So I can't see how I will lose weight sucessfully without 'gymin' it'.

I also have very little support but the biggest thing is the fear. Has anyone experienced this? Can anyone suggest how to get over it? I was actually feeling ok about my weight for a while but the last few months its really getting me down and it's making me return to my anti-social self. I've also been avoiding going to uni which is not a good thing. ARGH. Help please!

Cheers,
Jess
jessmeow

Re: Too scared to start again?

Postby Hanhan » Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:54 pm

Hi Jess,
I'm in much the same position. Last year I lost 15kgs and put almost all of it back on over the Summer break. I understand what you mean about the fear of 'failing' again, that's the reason I put off restarting my weight-loss.