It is currently Thu Sep 29, 2016 5:44 pm

Free Newsletter

Hello all! Newbie here with 20kgs to lose.

A place for members with more than 10 kg to lose

Moderator: Moderators

Hello all! Newbie here with 20kgs to lose.

Postby PeppermintTea » Sun Aug 18, 2013 3:04 pm

So here's a little about myself:
I'm about 70 kgs currently and have two milestone goals; 55kg and 50kg.
I know it seems like alot to lose but I have 33% body fat, which puts me on the verge of obesity.
Anyhow, I'm not looking to do any of those fad diets like CelebritySlim or Weight Watchers but hope to eat healthy. I currently have a bit of a problem with binge eating junk food.
I've joined a gym and am hoping to work out 5 days a week, with 15 min on the treadmill (I can only work my way up to 10km/hr now), 20 on the bike and 20 or so crunches on the machine.
Any ideas on how many weeks it should take me to reach 55 kg or suggestions on what to add to my workout? I was thinking weights, but perhaps later when I lose more fat first?
PeppermintTea

Re: Hello all! Newbie here with 20kgs to lose.

Postby CGS » Mon Aug 19, 2013 8:18 am

50kg is wayyyy too light unless you plan on losing some lean body mass in the process. Not recommended. At 33% body fat you have 23.1kg of fat and 46.9kg lean body mass. Even if you drop 10kg of fat to 60kg you'll reach about 21-22% body fat. What percentage do you want?
CGS

Re: Hello all! Newbie here with 20kgs to lose.

Postby Blitz » Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:06 pm

How tall are you? Then we can tell you what would be a reasonable and health goal for you.