It is currently Mon Dec 05, 2016 1:27 pm

Free Newsletter

Please critique: my current food plan

Anything and everything concerning food and nutrition.

Moderator: Moderators

Please critique: my current food plan

Postby BeyondBeauty » Sun Sep 28, 2008 3:42 pm

I work in the mining industry, I wake up at 5am each morning. I go to gym most evenings after work, so I normally don't get home until 7pm.

14 hours is a long time to be on the go, and I find it necessary to have lots of snacks with me so that I am not tempted to "buy" things that are fattening. I also feel fuller and more sustained if I snack on a lot of smaller items throughout the day, rather than having bigger meals. I don't like cereal and I can't eat breakfast at 5am in the morning as it makes me feel ill.

I began doing the Lite n Easy program, however, I simply couldn't sustain the cost involved... so I attempted to make my own menu plan. At the moment, I have two seperate menu plans which I eat on alternate days:

Day 1
Sanitarium Up & Go (200cal)
140g tub of diced fruit (80cal)
30g pack of Sunbeam "Just Nuts" natural nut mix (183cal)
1 x 160g weight watchers frozen wrap(275cal)
1 fresh orange or apple (40cal)
1 small wholegrain roll with vegemite (100cal?)
250ml fruit juice (110cal)

(approx 990cal total)

Day 2
1 ham & low fat cheese whole grain toasted sandwich (?)
1 portion of weight watchers fruit slice biscuit (85cal)
1 x 100g tub of low fat fruit yoghurt (95cal)
8 rice crackers(80cal)
1 fresh orange or apple (40cal)
1 x 160g weight watchers frozen wrap (275cal)
250ml fruit juice (110cal)

(approx 685cal +sandwich)

I pre-pack these into zip-lock bags on the weekends, so each morning I just open the fridge, grab a bag and go! I don't specify to myself "when" I must eat these foods or in what order, I just snack on them throughout the day as and when I feel like it... and some days I don't eat it all.