It is currently Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:17 am

Free Newsletter

Antibiotic rant

Share your health and beauty secrets here.

Moderator: Moderators

Antibiotic rant

Postby Butterfly_Dawn » Thu Jul 26, 2007 10:12 am

*%$#&$ antibiotics. I hate them. GRRRRRR

despite taking the probiotocs TWICE daily to make up for killing all the poor little buggers and hopefully keep everything vaguely in balance, I'm STILL beginning to get the dreaded thrush. AND it makes me feel urrghy in the tummy generally. AND you have to organise your eating around the whole 1/2 hour before food and 2 hours after food business.

Next time I get tonsilitis I'm not going to the doc until it really is bad. :evil:

**rant over**
35kg lost. (November 2005 - October 2006)
15kg gained again (as at October 2010).
Back to the drawing board - Let's do this thing!

"You can't change the winds, but you can change the sails"

"Reach out and take control of what lands in your lap"

Butterfly_Dawn

Postby kate_turner2000 » Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:51 am

aw i can sympathise with you tegan. ive had it twice in my life and it hasnt been from antibiotics. can you still get thrush if you have a injection as opposed to taking oral antibiotics?
kate_turner2000

Postby Butterfly_Dawn » Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:52 pm

I reckon. Still does the same thing. My memory is a bit vague, but I'm pretty sure my antibiotics for my wisdom teeth removal may have ben injection (of really strong anti-b's) and that definitely gave it to me.

Butterfly_Dawn

Postby Pipsi » Thu Jul 26, 2007 1:30 pm

Hiya

Just a tip - I ALWAYS buy Yakult when I am on antibiotics. Antibiotics kill all the bad AND good bacteria in your system. Taking Yakult every day puts them good bacteria back in your system so you can avoid infections elsewhere.

I have been on antibiotics HEAPS in my life and I always make sure I take Yakult with it now. I never have a problem.

Hope this helps :)